The more than 125-year-old abandoned Gunel-Latinovits villa has a fountain park and a castle-like tower and cellar system.
The area is now considered a resort area, the small cottages, tourist facilities, hotels, campsites, restaurants, sports facilities in the area, and archaeologically significant ruins. The area has been inhabited since Roman times, bordering the plot water washing served as the main road of the Roman and later the Árpádian settlement, so the whole area and plot itself is a significant archaeological site, where the local museum has repeatedly arranged excavations.
The first major built element of the site is a medieval Orthodox Christian monastery and church it was probably founded in the 12th century and became deserted and destroyed by Turkish times. The ruins of the monastery the staff of the King Matthias Museum excavated and held detailed archaeological surveys, the monastery stone foundations, and the ascending walls can be found at a depth of about 1 meter underground.
Much later, probably in the early 19th century, a press house was built on the foundations of the Gothic church. Of this the Latinovits-Gundel villa was built around 1920 on the site of a press house and retaining its walls, which was built by the famous actor and the host family, according to several sources, by Frigyes Feszl.
Measured in historical perspectives, it is only a hair’s breadth away from that today we cannot see the restored ruins of the church of the Greek monastery founded in the middle of the 11th century. Béla Czobor excavated the truncated walls on behalf of the National Committee on Monuments between 1890 and 1895 and even found significant wall sections, many stone carvings, and even fragments of frescoes in one place. However, upon completion of the excavation, the landowners excavated the stones, and a cellar and press house was built into the northern aisle using medieval walls. The latter was replaced by the Latinovits Villa, which still stands today in the 1920s.
We know the history of the 11th century Visegrád Greek monastery relatively well, although much of our knowledge is inferred. The first written source dates only from 1221, the charter of Pope Honorius to the Archbishop of Esztergom and the abbot of Pilis, and it is precisely about the fact that the monastery should be taken over by the Benedictine order. The Greek term is used in the text, suggesting that its former inhabitants were Greek, orthodox monks in today’s parlance. The other – indirect – source is the legend of St. Gellert, which, in addition to Tihany, is also about a monastery founded by Andrew I in Visegrád.
The construction of the cellar and press house, and then of the villa in the 20th century, in addition to some carvings, could have destroyed all the material relics of the building. Fortunately, this did not happen: the staff of the Visegrád Museum was able to carry out excavations in the area in 1986 and then between 2001 and 2003. Although the artifacts were not abundant, they managed to compile half a thousand years of the monastery’s history.
The villa was a SZOT park resort during socialism in the 60s and 70s.
A huge sign on the main street of Visegrád indicates that the Gundel-Latinovits villa is still looking for its new owner! The Gundel–Latinovits villa in Visegrád is being sold again. 323 million HUF are being asked for the crumbling ruins and the land belonging to them. He has learned that the nearly 120-year-old property, which is in a dilapidated condition, and the associated 3.26-hectare plot, on the border of which there is also a stream, have been looking for a new owner for years. There are always plans for its fate, but there will never be anything. ”For sale on the outskirts of Visegrád, a classicist building known as Villa Gundel-Latinovits, built at the beginning of the last century, with a 3.2626-hectare park with ancient trees and a stream flowing along with the plot. The property has many unique options that can be purchased at a land price by the investor who sees the opportunity in it. The special features of the place include the stream bordering the area, which is fed by the water of the Mátyás spring, and a small lake that can be dammed from the flowing water. The proximity of the Danube provides a unique opportunity for the future owner …
The proximity of the Danube provides a unique opportunity for the future owner, it is also possible to build a port. The direction of the property is 1 million euros.”
Some would have made the building a 100-room hotel, a private clinic, or just a luxury nursing home. Moreover, according to a foundation, the mansion could even provide a worthy home for an artist colony, for which they have also prepared a ready-made marketing plan. If the situation remains the same and no one takes care of the fork, soon everything will be in vain.
Pictures are from an unknown site… if you know of any archive photos, please contact us.